GringoPost | Ecuador: Cuenca Symphony Orchestra provides concert for the International Museum Day

Logo HTML1

Ecuador-logo HTML40

The Fusion Pocket Radio (Test)

Search HTML3

Cuenca Symphony Orchestra provides concert for the International Museum Day

The Symphonic Orchestra of Cuenca, under the baton of the maestro Jorge Oviedo Jaramillo (Ecuador), Invited Director, with the participation of the first Flute of the Institution, Sandra Fernández Vizcaíno (Ecuador) Invited Soloist, presents the XV Concert of the I Season 2018 In homage to the International Museum Day, this Friday, May 18 at the Pumapungo theater at 8 PM. Admission is free until full capacity. This is the repertoire:

In the Realm of Nature, Overture Op. 91: Antonín Dvořák. This composer since childhood demonstrated a special disposition for music. He began his studies in Zlonice and continued in Prague, then played the viola in an orchestra until 1871. At the same time, he began his activity as a composer. The first success achieved in this area was a Hymn with text by Hálek, thanks to which he obtained the position of organist of the church of San Etelberto, which he kept until 1877.
The Overture In the Realm of Nature, Op. 91, was written in 1891, and is part of the trilogy "Nature, Life and Love." The other two parts of the trilogy are Carnival Overture, Op. 92 ("Life") and Othello, Op. 93 ("Love"). By decision of the publisher, each of the parts were published as independent works, feeding all of them the recognition and prestige of its creator.

Poem: Charles Tomlinson Griffes. It is one of the few American creations within the impressionist style. The closeness of Griffes to the music of Scriabin is easily recognizable through the use of synthetic scales as the basis for his creation. The prolific musical production of this controversial composer, despite his untimely death at the age of 35, represents an important legacy for his country and for the world.

Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun: Claude Debussy. Debussy in a way, reinvented the music. He took his elements and transformed them to create a personal, different music, a music for his own use, that had little to do with what had been previously written. This work is a symphonic poem for orchestra. Its premiere took place in Paris in 1894 and deals with a young faun who meets several nymphs, flirts with them and deliberately pursues them in an openly erotic game. It is considered one of the first modern ballets and in its premier it was as controversial as Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring. Today we present it commemorating the one hundred years of the death of its composer, who was known as the "Great Claudius of France".

Sixth Symphony for strings and timbales: Luis Humberto Salgado. It shows a harmonic language more sophisticated and abstract than that of the first symphonies. Orchestrally the strings are permanently divided to give greater flexibility to the contrapuntal handling of the voices. Despite not using original autochthonous melodies, the first and third movements have the motive and essence of the indigenous dances. The second and the fourth movements use an atonal language and an accentuated chromaticism in the melodic line, usually formed by sequences of twelve tones.

Dear Friends, we always give you special reasons to be with us, so all of you already know all of us.

Find us at Facebook, Twitter, Instagram