GringoPost | Ecuador: Emir Saul directs the Basque Symphony Orchestra this week

Logo HTML1

Ecuador-logo HTML40

The Fusion Pocket Radio (Test)

Search HTML3

Emir Saul directs the Basque Symphony Orchestra this week

The Orquesta Sinfónica de Cuenca this week is under the baton of Emir Saúl (Argentina), Guest Director, outstanding musician and orchestra conductor with a long and valuable world career. As a Guest Soloist we will have the First Trombone of the Institution, Dino Paccha (Ecuador) and two concerts will be offered: on Thursday, April 19 at 8 PM in the Colony of the Borja Private Educational Unit in homage to the 80th anniversary of the Foundation and on Friday, April 20 at 8 PM in the church of El Sagrario (Old Cathedral) for the Golden Jubilee of the Daniel Cordova Toral School. Admission to both events is free until full capacity. This is the repertoire:

Symphony No. 1 in G minor - Vasyl Kalinnikov. Kalinnikov was appointed principal conductor at the Italian opera theater in Moscow, and then, on the recommendation of Tchaikovsky, he was appointed Musical Director of the Maliy Theater of the same city. Due to health problems, he had to renounce both charges, moving to the Crimea, where he would find death at the young age of 35 years.

The Symphony No. 1 in G minor was initiated in 1894 and culminated in 1895 in Yalta. Its premiere was held in Kiev in 1897 at a concert of the Russian Music Society, under the direction of Vinogradsky. He dedicated it to his friend Kruglikov.

The first movement, Allegro moderato, contains two contrasting themes. The second is the most attractive and characteristic of the work, for its great melodic lyricism of an eminently Russian character. A difficult subject to forget once it has been listened to, due to its catchy profile. In several sections a colorful orchestration and escaped forms. Following the recapitulation a conclusive coda ends the movement.

The second movement corresponds to an Andante commodamente. Two notes repeated insistently by the violin with accompaniment of the harp for about thirty bars, form the basis on which a lyrical theme presented by the English horn develops. A melancholy melody interpreted by the oboe is answered by the string. In the central part the wood is the protagonist, with a part of great lyricism. The painful melody of the oboe appears again in the final part, with the two repeated notes of the beginning of the movement, ending serenely, in the same way as it has begun. The style of the work reminds us of Tchaikovsky.

The Scherzo presents a peasant dance of Russian character with two different sections that are then combined. The trio contrasts with the previous part with a melancholy melody of the bassoon. Then the first part is repeated.
The final movement is an Allegro moderato, which starts with the first theme of the first movement. Continues with a new hectic theme and a second lyrical type. This lyric theme is later transformed into the main lyric theme of the first movement. In the central part the music becomes very animated with several themes, which reappear as the slow movement presented by the English horn, but interpreted more stridently. The work ends with great brilliance and solemnity.

Goodbye Nonino - Astor Piazzolla. Piazzolla was a popular extract composer, convinced that the study of symphonic music would be the way to find a way to develop new musical ideas, he studied first with Alberto Ginastera in Buenos Aires, and later with Nadia Boulanger in Paris. Undoubtedly, this training broke with the tango tradition, maintaining its roots in the popular music of Buenos Aires, taking it to new expressive forms.

Years before writing Adiós Nonino (nickname with which they called his father) had written in Paris in his honor "Nonino" (for string orchestra). While touring Central America, he learns of his father's death, in a banal bicycle accident in Mar del Plata, the city where the composer was born. The deep sadness in which he submerged (tells his son Daniel who locked himself to compose and only left when the play was finished) motivated him to compose one of his most famous melodies.

From the beginning, "Adiós Nonino" was linked to the instrumental format of the quintet of those years (bandoneon, violin, guitar, piano and double bass).

The orchestral version of this night belongs to the director and is based on the transcription that Maestro Piazzolla made for the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Cologne (Germany), which was for bandoneon, strings, piano, harp and percussion.

Concert for Trombone - Georg Christoph Wagenseil. Composer born in Vienna on January 29, 1715, and died in Ibídem on March 1, 1777. He was also an organist and harpsichordist.

His early talent for the harpsichord was recognized by the composer Johann Joseph Fux, who took him as his pupil in 1735. In 1739 he was elected composer of the court.
For his time he was a relatively well-known composer. A good example is the publication of his works in Paris. In addition, Haydn and Mozart were familiar with their music. His first opera, Ariodante, was composed in Venice in 1745.

His compositions include choral music, three oratorios, masses and cantatas; Also noteworthy are his chamber symphonies, chamber music for string with and without harpsichord, as well as keyboard compositions. As a writer and music theorist his work stands out Rudimenta panduristae oder Geig-Fundamenta of 1751.

The Concert is written for high trombone and reduced orchestra (besides the strings it has 2 flutes and two horns). It consists of two movements.

Dear friends, we always give you special reasons to be with us, so all of you already know all of us.