GringoPost | Ecuador: Symphony Orchestra of Cuenca presents three guests, this week

Logo HTML1

Ecuador-logo HTML40

The Fusion Pocket Radio (Test)

Search HTML3

Symphony Orchestra of Cuenca presents three guests, this week

The Symphony Orchestra of Cuenca has three important guests for its XX Concert of the I Season 2017 to be held this Friday, July 14 at the Pumapungo Theater at 8 PM with free admission under the baton of Master William Vergara Saula, Guest Director, who has selected a brilliant and demanding repertoire with the participation of the noted American pianist Claudia Knafo, winner of countless awards and contests, nominated for the Grammy Awards, who has captivated audiences with her diverse repertoire and her deeply passionate art; and the talented soprano Cuencana Vanessa Freire, who with her beautiful and versatile voice allows the audience to enjoy the most varied genres.

The repertoire is as follows:

Concert for Piano Op. 16 - Edward Grieg. It is the only score for piano and orchestra that presents the production of Grieg, highlighting in its first edition a dedication to the pianist Edmund Neupart. The structure of the work is traditional, in three movements. In the first movement, we can hear the influence of Norwegian folk music on two-beat rhythms called halling. The second movement has a lyrical character, in contrast to the rhythms of the dance of the final movement where Grieg clearly imitates the rhythm of springar, melodía danceable in three times. The characteristic sound of the fifths is also reminiscent of this folklore. It is these elements that make the Grieg Piano Concert so distinctive.

Symphony No. 4 in G Major - Gustav Mahler. Possessing singular anecdotal notes such as the fact that its fourth (and last) movement was chronologically the first to be composed (1892), while the remaining three (first, second and third respectively) had to wait until the period 1899-1901 to be taken to the staff.

Discarding it as the end of his third symphony, Gustav Mahler parked the score to resort to it again after a few years using it as a starting point (actually it was the end) of what would be his fourth symphony. With this, the composer faced the challenge of being forced to compose the first three movements in line with a preexisting conclusion. The result of all this was what we know today as the most modest, and somewhat simpler, symphony composed by the author.

Dear friends, as always, please know that everyone is cordially invited.

Ana Dávila Vázquez. Manager, Cuenca Symphony Orchestra